Africa and COVID-19 Webinar Series: Expanding Access to Mental Health

Date: 

Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 10:00am to 11:00am

Location: 

Virtual Event - Details Below

October 28 - Expanding Access to Mental Health

Updated October 28 Webinar Poster

The Lancet Global Health concluded that mental health is underserved in Africa. Researchers tend to neglect African populations in studies about mental health, service providers on the continent are insufficient to meet the needs of the population, and many countries lack a mental health strategy. The COVID-19 pandemic and its ensuing healthcare and economic consequences have only added to global mental health concerns as individuals grapple with social isolation, loss of income and livelihoods, and illness or death in their families and communities. The panel will explore the challenges for mental health in Africa, the related research, and possible solutions for expanding access to mental health services.

 

 

Register for the webinar: https://harvard.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Cy_a3e4tR1KuEjK6TDUm4g

This webinar will be livestreamed on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/HarvardAfricanStudies/live_videos/

 

Speakers:

  • Dr. Florence Baingana,WHO Africa Regional Advisor, Mental Health and Substance Abuse
  • Professor Karestan Koenen, Professor of Psychiatric Epidemiology, Department of Epidemiology, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
  • Professor Vikram Patel, The Pershing Square Professor of Global Health in the Blavatnik Institute's Department of Global Health and Social Medicine at Harvard Medical School
  • Moderated by Professor Shekhar Saxena, Professor of the Practice of Global Mental Health, Harvard University

--

The Harvard University Center for African Studies in partnership with the Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (Africa CDC) is hosting a series of webinars on the topic of COVID-19 and Africa. Held each Wednesday for one hour from 10am EST, CAS’ Africa and COVID-19 Webinar Series will bring together the private sector, policy makers, academics, and practitioners for a series of conversations across health, technology, and economy, among others. Please check  our COVID-19 Resources page for upcoming webinars and recordings of previous webinars. Join our weekly newsletter to receive updated information.

Timezones:

7:00AM PDT 
10:00AM EDT 
3:00PM WAT
4:00PM CAT 
5:00PM EAT 

Upcoming Webinars:

 

ORGANIZERS: Harvard Center for African Studies & Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention