Past Events

  • 2020 Aug 06

    Mozambique’s Peace and National Reconciliation Agreement: One Year On

    9:30am to 11:30am

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    6 August 2020 marks one year since the Peace and National Reconciliation Agreement was signed in Maputo. The agreement, signed by the President of Mozambique Filipe Nyusi and RENAMO leader Ossufo Momade, and witnessed by regional and international political and religious leaders, ended the return to conflict that started in 2013.

    It also paved the way for Mozambique’s national elections in October 2019. Since the agreement, the Mozambique Liberation Front (FRELIMO) won a landslide victory in the elections, weakening RENAMO, and a splinter group has conducted targeted armed...

    Read more about Mozambique’s Peace and National Reconciliation Agreement: One Year On
  • 2020 Aug 05

    The United States and Africa: Perception and Policy

    9:45am

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    Carnegie Endowment for International Peace is hosting an event  on U.S. Foreign Policy across the African continent with Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf and Linda Thomas-Greenfield. You can join this Youtube Live with the link below.

    Africa is changing. Formidable challenges in security and governance remain, with population growth, rapid urbanization, and now the pandemic straining resources and capacity, but the continent is still moving forward at a remarkable pace. Many recognize the new reality, growth potential, better governance, and dramatic increase in foreign investment....

    Read more about The United States and Africa: Perception and Policy
  • 2020 Aug 04

    Brainstorming on Cities During COVID-19: Comparisons, Responses and the Future

    9:00am to 11:00am

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    City Diplomacy in the era of COVID 19

    This event will launch a series of virtual forums to serve as a platform for sharing views and perspectives on how cities around the world are coping, performing, and managing under the COVID-19 pandemic. This launch forum will discuss ideas for sharing experiences and networking, observations from actual situations and responses, and setting out an agenda for research and networking.

    This five-part series will serve as a platform for sharing views and perspectives on how cities around the world are coping,...

    Read more about Brainstorming on Cities During COVID-19: Comparisons, Responses and the Future
  • 2020 Aug 03

    Global Studies Outreach Summer Teacher's Workshop: Under Fire: Intersections of Climate and Conflict

    Mon Aug 3 (All day) to Thu Aug 6 (All day)

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    This summer, Global Studies Outreach at Harvard will present a four-day workshop for K-12 and community college educators entitled Under Fire: Intersections of Climate and Conflict.

     

    Droughts in Yemen. Wildfires in California. Floods in Bangladesh. Melting permafrost in Siberia. The shifts in climate that are reshaping the global landscape are impossible to ignore, whether they are in the form of unprecedented temperatures, fluctuating...

    Read more about Global Studies Outreach Summer Teacher's Workshop: Under Fire: Intersections of Climate and Conflict
  • 2020 Jul 29

    Economic Strategies: What Now?

    10:00am to 11:00am

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    10:00 EDT New York | 14:00 GMT Ghana | 15:00 WAT Nigeria/UK | 16:00 CAT South Africa | 17:00 EAT Kenya

    Almost August. African COVID-19 Cases Rapidly Rising. Economic Strategies: What Now? Join the following panelists for a discussion on the economic strategies as African COVID-19 cases rise:

    • Acha Leke, Senior Partner, Johannesburg Chairman, McKinsey Africa
    • Dr. John N. Nkengasong, MSc, PhD, Director of the Africa Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
    • Vera Songwe, UN Under-Secretary-General and 9th...
    Read more about Economic Strategies: What Now?
  • 2020 Jul 28

    Online Event: Crisis in Northern Mozambique

    10:00am to 10:45am

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    The recent escalation of violence in the Cabo Delgado province threatens the overall security of the region and has caused a substantial increase in humanitarian needs. Since 2017, the conflict in northern Mozambique has displaced nearly 250,000 people and killed 1,000 others, with violence escalating rapidly in 2020. The Islamic State has tried to capitalize on the chaos, and the Government of Mozambique has struggled to combat armed actors while also navigating climate shocks and the response to Covid-19.

    Please join us for a discussion on the...

    Read more about Online Event: Crisis in Northern Mozambique
  • 2020 Jul 28

    LGBTQIA+ affirmative mental health practices

    9:00am to 10:00am

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    09:00 EST; 14:00 BST; 15:00 CET; 15:00 SAST; 18:30 IST

     

    This series of weekly webinars is run by United for Global Mental Health, The Lancet Psychiatry, Mental Health Innovation Network, and MHPSS.net.

     

    The webinars are designed to provide policy makers and the wider health community with the latest evidence on the impact of COVID-19 on mental health, and practical solutions to the challenging issues we are all grappling with. Participants are encouraged to join from around the world, including those with lived...

    Read more about LGBTQIA+ affirmative mental health practices
  • 2020 Jul 27

    Building Sustainable Research Capacity in Sub-Saharan Africa to Detect Emerging Infectious Diseases

    11:00am

    Location: 

    Virtual Event - Details Below

    A panel of experts from 5 countries will set out to explore the challenges faced by lack of research capacity around infectious diseases in sub-Saharan Africa, a deficit that is ultimately threatening the health of millions of people living in this region. The panel will aim to offer ideas for opportunities and innovations in this field – including training the next generation of equitable researchers and infectious disease specialists through post-graduate degree programs, and increased investment in facilities such as laboratories to further critical research around novel infectious...

    Read more about Building Sustainable Research Capacity in Sub-Saharan Africa to Detect Emerging Infectious Diseases

Pages